Managing Deleted Files
When you delete a file in GreenAnt Nest, it is not immediately deleted permanently. Instead, it is moved into the trash bin. It is not permanently deleted until you manually delete it, or when the Deleted Files app deletes it to make room for new files.
Find your deleted files by clicking on the Deleted files button on the Files page of the GreenAnt Nest Web interface. You’ll have options to either restore or permanently delete files.
Deleted files are not counted against your storage quota. Only files that originate with users count against their quotas, not files shared with them that originate from other users. (See Storage Quota to learn more about quotas.)
What Happens When Shared Files Are Deleted
Deleting files gets a little complicated when they are shared files, as this scenario illustrates:
User1shares a folder “test” with
User2(the recipient) deletes a file/folder “sub” inside of “test”
- The folder “sub” will be moved to the trashbin of both
User3will not have a copy of “sub” in her trash bin
User1 deletes “sub” then it is moved to
User1’s trash bin. It is deleted from
User3, but not placed in their trash bins.
When you share files, other users may copy, rename, move, and share them with other people, just as they can for any computer files; GreenAnt Nest does not have magic powers to prevent this.
How the Deleted Files app Manages Storage Space
To ensure that users do not run over their storage quotas, the Deleted Files app allocates a maximum of 50% of their currently available free space to deleted files. If your deleted files exceed this limit, GreenAnt Nest deletes the oldest files (files with the oldest timestamps from when they were deleted) until it meets the memory usage limit again.
Nest checks the age of deleted files every time new files are added to the deleted files. By default, deleted files stay in the trash bin for 180 days.